P.O.D. (Payable On Death) is a metal band formed in 1992. The band’s line-up consists of vocalist Sonny Sandoval, drummer Wuv Bernardo, guitarist Marcos Curiel, and bassist Traa Daniels. They have released seven studio albums and have sold over ten million records worldwide. Over the course of their career, the band have also received three Grammy Award nominations, contributed to numerous motion picture soundtracks and toured internationally. They are born again Christians, and their faith takes a central place in the band’s music.

With their third studio album, The Fundamental Elements of Southtown, they achieved their initial mainstream success; the album was certified Platinum by the RIAA in 2000.  Their following studio album, Satellite, continued the band’s success with the hit singles, “Alive” and “Youth of the Nation”, pushing it to go triple platinum.[

Style and influences

P.O.D.’s style has evolved over the years, from the rap metal sound on their early album’s to the nu metal/rap metal/reggae style that they’re most well known for. Their latest album, When Angels & Serpents Dance, is a combination of alternative rock, reggae rock and Latin influenced metal with almost none of the rap metal or nu metal sound of their older releases. P.O.D.’s influences include; Bob Marley, The Police, Metallica, Rage Against The Machine, and Black Sabbath.

Band members

Current members
  • Sonny Sandoval − lead vocals (1992–present)
  • Wuv Bernardo − drums, percussion, rhythm guitar, backing vocals (1992–present)
  • Traa Daniels − bass guitar, backing vocals (1994–present)
  • Marcos Curiel − lead guitar, glockenspiel, programming, backing vocals (1992–2003, 2006–present)
Former members
  • Gabe Portillo − bass (1992–1994)
  • Jason Truby − guitar, backing vocals (2003–2006)
Live/Session members
  • Tim Pacheco − percussion, keyboard, backing vocals (2005-2006)
  • ODZ − second guitar (2005-2006)
  • DJ Circa − turntables (1999)
  • Mike$ki Degracia − turntables, samples (1996)


  • Snuff the Punk (1994)
  • The Fundamental Elements of Southtown (1999)
  • Satellite (2001)
  • Payable on Death (2003)
  • Testify (2006)
  • When Angels & Serpents Dance (2008)


San Diego Music Awards
  • 1999 – Best Hard Rock Artist
  • 2000 – Best Hard Rock Artist
American Music Awards
  • 2003 – Favorite Contemporary Inspirational Artist (nomination)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: